Wallet guides · Updated September 17, 2026
Saddleback vs Filson: Medium Bifold or Bridle Leather Wallet?
The current Filson model verified for this comparison is the Bridle Leather Bi-fold in Tan, not an assumed “Rugged Twill Outfitter” wallet. Both it and Saddleback’s Medium Bifold use a conventional folding layout.
Our recommendation
Start with Saddleback if price and leather lining are your priorities. Consider Filson if you want six separate card compartments, Wickett & Craig bridle leather and a model explicitly labelled made in the USA. We have no comparative lifespan evidence that makes the higher price necessary.
The main differences
Published specifications for the exact versions below. Scroll the table sideways on smaller screens.
| Detail | Saddleback Medium Bifold | Filson Bridle Leather Bi-fold Wallet |
|---|---|---|
| USD reference | $89 | $179 |
| Cards | Four card slots; a total card count is not specified | Six card compartments; total card count not specified |
| Cash | Full-width bill compartment; check your largest notes | Cash storage compartment; check your largest notes |
| Dimensions | 4.25 × 3.5 × 0.5 in (W × H × D, manufacturer) | 4.5 × 3.5 in closed; depth not established |
| Construction | Full-grain leather, pigskin lining and polyester thread | 5 oz vegetable-tanned Wickett & Craig bridle leather; bonded nylon thread |
Which design suits you?
Lower-cost leather-lined option: At $89, it offers four card slots and a documented repair-first warranty for defects.
A leather-lined bifold with repair support
Saddleback Medium Bifold
$89US manufacturer reference
Version: 01-40-0029 · Classic collection
Choose it for: A starting point if you want a conventional bill compartment, leather lining and a documented repair route. The $89 reference is the lowest verified price in the main guide’s four-model shortlist alongside Bellroy.
Check before buying: Check pocket fit with your normal contents. Its published half-inch depth is not a measurement with cards and cash inside. The long warranty does not cover ordinary wear.
- Cards
- Four card slots; a total card count is not specified
- Cash
- Full-width bill compartment; check your largest notes
- Published dimensions
- 4.25 × 3.5 × 0.5 in (W × H × D, manufacturer)
- Construction
- Full-grain leather, pigskin lining and polyester thread
- Closure and layout
- Open bifold; no external fastening
- RFID
- Blocking layer listed for this current model
Care, origin and repair support
Saddleback gives different care advice for chrome-tanned and vegetable-tanned leather. Confirm the finish and approved treatment; avoid a universal six-month conditioning schedule. Maker’s guidance.
Brand describes its factory in Mexico; confirm the current wallet’s label. Origin information.
100 years for defective materials or workmanship. Read the limits below.
Six card compartments: The $179 Tan version identifies the leather tannery, US manufacture and a 4.5-inch closed width.
Six card compartments in US-tanned bridle leather
Filson Bridle Leather Bi-fold Wallet
$179US manufacturer reference
Version: Tan Leather · F0320234679-1
Choose it for: Consider it for six separate card positions, the specified Pennsylvania-tanned leather and a conventional billfold layout.
Check before buying: At $179 it costs more than the compared Saddleback, and its closed footprint is wider. We have no comparative lifespan evidence to justify that difference on durability alone.
- Cards
- Six card compartments; total card count not specified
- Cash
- Cash storage compartment; check your largest notes
- Published dimensions
- 4.5 × 3.5 in closed; depth not established
- Construction
- 5 oz vegetable-tanned Wickett & Craig bridle leather; bonded nylon thread
- Closure and layout
- Open bifold
- RFID
- No blocking claim established for this model
Care, origin and repair support
The model page says to wipe or brush clean. Ask Filson before adding treatments to this bridle leather. Maker’s guidance.
Made in the USA with North American leather. Origin information.
Material and workmanship defects during the product’s lifetime, subject to Filson’s assessment. Read the limits below.
Check slots and pocket width
Filson lists six card compartments; Saddleback lists four slots. Neither published slot count establishes a maximum comfortable card load. If you want every card in its own position, count your cards before comparing prices.
Filson lists 4.5 × 3.5 inches closed, against Saddleback’s 4.25 × 3.5 inches. Both need checking in the pocket you use. The Filson depth was not established, and leather weight is not a substitute for loaded measurements.
A long guarantee still has a defined scope
Filson’s Unfailing Guarantee concerns defects over the product’s useful life; extreme wear and several forms of damage are excluded. Its repair programme includes some paid work but does not establish that every wallet seam, fold or lining can be restored.
Saddleback’s longer term also excludes ordinary wear and misuse. For either wallet, ask what happens when a card slot stretches or leather tears beside a stitch line. Those faults may need more than replacement thread.
What repair and warranty support actually covers
Keep your receipt and send photographs before posting a damaged wallet. Ask whether the proposed remedy is restitching, another repair, replacement or credit, and whether you can retain the original item.
Saddleback Medium Bifold
100 years for defective materials or workmanship. Normal wear, misuse, abuse, accidents and irreversible modifications are excluded.
The stated remedy is repair, then replacement or store credit if repair is not possible. Ask about wallet-specific repair options, charges and shipping before sending it.
The policy discusses descendants, but does not clearly establish all secondhand purchase or receipt requirements. Confirm these if buying used.
Filson Bridle Leather Bi-fold Wallet
Material and workmanship defects during the product’s lifetime, subject to Filson’s assessment. Product lifetime ends when wear prevents normal function. Extreme wear, misuse, alterations, improper care and factory seconds are among the exclusions.
Filson offers covered repairs and some paid work where repair is possible. Confirm wallet-specific options, charges and postage; a general repair programme does not promise every wallet can be repaired.
Buy direct or through an authorised retailer and retain purchase details. Confirm secondhand eligibility with Filson.
Questions before you buy
Which Filson wallet does this comparison cover?
The Bridle Leather Bi-fold in Tan, model F0320234679-1. A current “Rugged Twill Outfitter” wallet was not verified, so its old specifications are not used here.
Does the more expensive Filson last longer?
We do not have controlled tests or comparable long-term evidence to establish that. Compare its leather, separate slots, origin and service with what you need.
Does Filson’s guarantee cover any damage forever?
No. It concerns qualifying defects during the product’s useful life and includes exclusions. Confirm repairability, coverage and postage with Filson before sending a wallet.