Wallet guides · Updated September 17, 2026
Tanner Goods vs Saddleback: Utility or Medium Bifold?
Both wallets have a traditional bill compartment, but the selected Tanner uses English bridle leather and the Saddleback has pigskin lining. The other material difference is the published service policy.
Our recommendation
Saddleback is the lower-cost starting point at $89, with repair described as the first warranty remedy. Consider Tanner at $145 if its bridle leather and pocket arrangement suit you. Confirm Tanner’s current repair availability before buying it for long-term service.
The main differences
Published specifications for the exact versions below. Scroll the table sideways on smaller screens.
| Detail | Tanner Goods Utility Bifold | Saddleback Medium Bifold |
|---|---|---|
| USD reference | $145 | $89 |
| Cards | Four card slots and two hidden pockets; total card count not established | Four card slots; a total card count is not specified |
| Cash | Full-width bill compartment | Full-width bill compartment; check your largest notes |
| Dimensions | 4.25 × 3.25 in closed; depth not established | 4.25 × 3.5 × 0.5 in (W × H × D, manufacturer) |
| Construction | 3.5 oz English bridle leather; burnished, dyed and waxed edges | Full-grain leather, pigskin lining and polyester thread |
Which design suits you?
Bridle leather and extra pockets: Four card slots plus two hidden pockets in the Black Utility Bifold. The leather-goods warranty is capped at eight years.
A US-made bridle-leather billfold
Tanner Goods Utility Bifold
$145US manufacturer reference
Version: Black · UBBlack
Choose it for: Compare it if you want bridle leather, a traditional bill compartment and additional pockets behind the card slots.
Check before buying: The $145 reference is for Black. Confirm stock and dispatch timing. Its “Limited Lifetime” policy limits leather-goods coverage to eight years and currently cautions that timely repairs are unavailable.
- Cards
- Four card slots and two hidden pockets; total card count not established
- Cash
- Full-width bill compartment
- Published dimensions
- 4.25 × 3.25 in closed; depth not established
- Construction
- 3.5 oz English bridle leather; burnished, dyed and waxed edges
- Closure and layout
- Open bifold
- RFID
- No blocking claim established for this model
Care, origin and repair support
Tanner advises little routine treatment and says conditioning English bridle leather can darken and soften it. Use only a small amount of the recommended treatment if needed. Maker’s guidance.
Made in the USA. Origin information.
Qualifying leather goods: manufacturer defects for up to eight years under the Limited Lifetime policy. Read the limits below.
Lower price and leather lining: Four card slots and a full bill compartment. Its much longer defect term still excludes ordinary wear.
A leather-lined bifold with repair support
Saddleback Medium Bifold
$89US manufacturer reference
Version: 01-40-0029 · Classic collection
Choose it for: A starting point if you want a conventional bill compartment, leather lining and a documented repair route. The $89 reference is the lowest verified price in the main guide’s four-model shortlist alongside Bellroy.
Check before buying: Check pocket fit with your normal contents. Its published half-inch depth is not a measurement with cards and cash inside. The long warranty does not cover ordinary wear.
- Cards
- Four card slots; a total card count is not specified
- Cash
- Full-width bill compartment; check your largest notes
- Published dimensions
- 4.25 × 3.5 × 0.5 in (W × H × D, manufacturer)
- Construction
- Full-grain leather, pigskin lining and polyester thread
- Closure and layout
- Open bifold; no external fastening
- RFID
- Blocking layer listed for this current model
Care, origin and repair support
Saddleback gives different care advice for chrome-tanned and vegetable-tanned leather. Confirm the finish and approved treatment; avoid a universal six-month conditioning schedule. Maker’s guidance.
Brand describes its factory in Mexico; confirm the current wallet’s label. Origin information.
100 years for defective materials or workmanship. Read the limits below.
Compare the whole wallet, not just the leather name
Tanner lists 3.5 oz English bridle leather and finished edges. Saddleback lists full-grain leather, pigskin lining and polyester thread. Those specifications describe construction; they do not establish which wallet will outlast the other.
Both list a closed width of 4.25 inches. Tanner is 3.25 inches tall and Saddleback 3.5 inches. Tanner’s depth was not established, so we cannot rank loaded thickness. Check the corners, fold and card access in your normal pocket.
Read beyond “lifetime”
Tanner’s published Limited Lifetime policy allows up to eight years for qualifying leather goods. Its repair page still says timely repairs are unavailable and directs customers to ask about replacement. Final-sale, clearance and sample-sale purchases are excluded.
Saddleback’s 100-year promise concerns defects, with repair before replacement or credit where possible. It does not make ordinary abrasion, stretched pockets or accidental damage automatically covered. Ask both makers about your likely repair and postage costs.
What repair and warranty support actually covers
Keep your receipt and send photographs before posting a damaged wallet. Ask whether the proposed remedy is restitching, another repair, replacement or credit, and whether you can retain the original item.
Tanner Goods Utility Bifold
Qualifying leather goods: manufacturer defects for up to eight years under the Limited Lifetime policy. Leather restoration is unavailable. Final Sale, Clearance and Sample Sale purchases are excluded.
The published page says timely repair service is unavailable and invites contact about possible replacement. Confirm the current service position and postage before buying for repairability.
Qualifying direct or authorised purchases; proof of purchase is needed for replacement. Each claim is reviewed.
Saddleback Medium Bifold
100 years for defective materials or workmanship. Normal wear, misuse, abuse, accidents and irreversible modifications are excluded.
The stated remedy is repair, then replacement or store credit if repair is not possible. Ask about wallet-specific repair options, charges and shipping before sending it.
The policy discusses descendants, but does not clearly establish all secondhand purchase or receipt requirements. Confirm these if buying used.
Questions before you buy
Does Tanner offer unlimited lifetime wallet coverage?
No. The checked policy caps leather-goods coverage at eight years and applies conditions, including qualifying purchases and proof for replacement.
Is Tanner guaranteed to be slimmer?
No. We have closed width and height, but not a matched measurement with cards and cash. The leather weight alone cannot establish loaded thickness.
Can both makers repair worn leather?
Do not assume so. Tanner says leather restoration is unavailable and warns of repair delays. Saddleback excludes ordinary wear from its defect warranty. Send photographs and ask about the actual damage.